top of page

AWTE Annual Awards Shortlist Announced

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

The Association of Women Travel Executives (AWTE) is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2022 Annual Awards.

The AWTE has received nominations from around the travel industry to honour those whose have made a significant contribution over the last 12 months. The winners will be announced at the Annual Christmas lunch, which traditionally starts the travel festive season on the 5 December at The Swan Underglobe, Bankside, London.

The shortlist for each category is as follows:

  • Honorary Award– Honouring a female who has gone above and beyond in the past year to challenge the status quo as a thought leader in the industry. – Sponsored by Gail Kenny Executive Recruitment

    • Shortlist

      • Julia Lo Bue-Said, CEO The Advantage Travel Partnership

      • Katie Blake, That’s the Ticket

      • Alessandro Alonso, Founder, Women in Travel CIC

  • Ambassador Award –This award recognises a travel industry male professional who actively encourages, enables, and supports women in business – Sponsored by Ambassador Cruise Line

    • Shortlist

      • Daniel Pearce, CEO, TTG Media

      • Bruce Martin, Managing Director, Travel Gossip

      • Tony Wheble, CEO, Feefo

      • Phil Donnelly, Chief People Officer, Travelport

  • Start Up of the year Award - For an engaging, innovative, and impactful female start-up created to change the way we travel – Sponsored by Elman Wall

    • Shortlist

      • Byway, The Slow Travel Specialist

      • Best Workplaces in Travel

  • Social Impact Award – For an individual or brand that has shown innovation in ways that have positively impacted the travel community or has developed their strategy in a sustainable and impactful way

    • Shortlist

      • Alessandra Alonso, Founder, Women in Travel CIC

      • Ami Naru, Partner & Head of Employment, Travlaw

      • Travelport

      • Intrepid Travel

· Inclusion Award - For a travel brand that has shown outstanding commitment to equality on their board and across the whole business, allowing women to reach their full potential – Sponsored by Intrepid Travel

  • Shortlist

· Travlaw

· Enchanting Travels

· Rising Star of the year Award - For an individual who is 30 or under, relatively fresh to the industry and has made a significant impact. – in partnership with ITT

  • Shortlist

    • Megan Bowbrick, Business Partner, Travelport

    • Louise Holt, Eurocamp

    • Sophie Nelson, Avis Budget Group

Chair, Lindsay Garvey Jones said, “We are delighted with the nominations we have received this year from across the travel industry, with so many people going above and beyond in the last 12 months. Judging the nominations has been a challenge as there are so many worthy winners. We are looking forward to announcing the winners in just two weeks’ time at our Awards ceremony and Christmas lunch, but don’t miss out as there are only a few tickets left!”

Tickets can be booked on our website, so book now to avoid disappointment.”

45 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page