Develop your skills and career with advice, inspiration and support from the cream of the travel industry

Join the awte

AWTE Annual Awards 2019 – shortlist announced

The AWTE is delighted to announce the finalists for this year’s AWTE Awards. The finalists have been selected by an esteemed panel of travel industry judges from the nominations put forward. The winners will be announced at the AWTE Awards Evening on the 23rd September 2019, with headline sponsor The Travel Network Group. For 2019, the Rising Star Award has been introduced to recognise new and upcoming talent in our industry.

Chair Claire Osborne commented “The shortlist for this year was outstanding, and the judges had a tough job selecting the finalists for this year.  This year’s awards are going to be bigger and better than ever and we can’t wait for the event to announce the winners, and especially having the opportunity to recognise some of the Rising Stars in travel. Tickets are selling fast so please don’t leave it too late to book.”

The event is sponsored by The Travel Network Group.

The finalists are:

AWTE Honorary Award

  • Lindsay Garvey-Jones – Holiday Extras
  • Debbie Marshall – Silver Travel Advisor
  • Maggie Dobson – AWTE Benevolent
  • Lisa Henning – The Travel Network Group

AWTE Business Impact Award -Sponsored by Royal Caribbean

  • Adele Foster – CLIA
  • Sara Marchant – Heathrow Airport Ltd
  • Tolene Van Der Merwe – South African Tourism UK
  • Sonja Haas – Travelzoo
  • Claire Brighton – Advantage Travel Partnership

AWTE Company Award

  • HF Holidays
  • C & M Travel Recruitment

AWTE Ambassador Award

  • Phil Gardner – Thomas Cook
  • Adam White – Baxter Hoare
  • Daniel Pearce – TTG Media
  • Neil Armorgie – Advantage Travel Partnership

AWTE Rising Star Award – Sponsored by Beds With Ease

  • Emily Charlotte Olsen – The Brighter Group
  • Camila Del Popolo – Travelport
  • Cat Morrissey – The Travel Network Group
  • Sophie Nelson – AVIS Budget International
  • Laura Lindley – Travelzoo

The presentation of these awards will take place on the 23rd September at One Moorgate House, the home of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. Tickets are available to book now.


Claire Osborne
Published by Claire Osborne
Claire has held various roles within the Travel Industry across a wide variety of disciplines over more than 20 years. At the start of her career, she held various Account Management positions before progressing to be Head of Agency Sales at STA Travel. During this time she led a team of 9 and had complete responsibility for the success of the division. Claire then progressed into the role of Commercial and Marketing Manager for Resorthoppa, help take the company from a small start-up to an organisation employing over 100 people just prior to its sale to the LowCost Group. During her time here she led various initiatives including creating legal and finance processes, designing marketing campaigns, setting up business support functions and developing relationships with Travel Agency partners. Before joining Travelport, she held the role of Business Expert at TUI helping them shape and define changes to their internal systems and consumer technology solutions. This enabled Claire to learn a great deal about technology, project management and business analysis which has been invaluable in her current role. Initially joining Travelport as Product Support Manager, UK & Ireland, in 2011 she was promoted just over 12 months later to Director of Product Support for Europe heading up a team of 9 product professionals. In 2014, Claire was asked to join the commercial side of the organisation as Solutions Sales Director and re-define the role of the functional support team within the UK. In 2016, this role grew to encompass the Northern European area increasing the number of employees from 8 to the 25 we have today. In 2017, Claire was pleased to be elected to the Board of AWTE and in 2019 was delighted to be nominated as Chair.